// Ziplining at Xtreme Park Adventures //

Disclosure: This post is sponsored by Xtreme Park Adventures. Although I was compensated by Xtreme Park Adventures with a payment, product, or something else of value in exchange for writing this post, all thoughts and opinions are my own.  

Ya’ll summer is in full swing and this heat is killing me. My fave thing to do on the weekends is sit outside and read, and I can’t even do it without sitting in my own sweat. LIFE IS SO HARD.

Last weekend, Zach and I decided to get in touch with our adventurous side. On Saturday, this meant heading to Xtreme Park Adventures for ziplining. Xtreme Park Adventures is an adventure park (as the name so obviously implies) that features paintball, airsoft, outdoor laser tag, and ziplining. I had been to the park for paintball in the past and it is AWESOME. They have around 30 acres of paintball fields, which makes for some really fun and diverse gameplay. Side note: I’ve gone a few times with my co-workers and it adds an extra level of enjoyment. Highly recommend.

This time, we headed to Xtreme for ziplining. I had never been ziplining before, and it was a blast! Check it.

IMG_8366
All smiles

 

The first line was nice and long, but also super high. I’m not scared of heights or anything, but there is a weird moment when you have to initially jump off of the platform where you’re like, I feel like I’ve been taught the opposite of this, and thus my body is not having it. Of course, once you do it you’re golden. My favorites lines were the low, fast lines. The more speed the better. You could even say I have a need. A need for speed. (kill me.)

The ziplines are great for all ages! We had a few kids with our group and an (adorable) older gentleman.

 

 

We had a super fun time, but I (per the usual) have a few tips to make your zipping even better:

  • Ask about your group size before you book. I think an ideal group would be under 8 people. We had 14, which resulted in a lot of waiting around. Still fun, but to maximize your time, go for the smallest group possible.
  • Go on a nice day. You don’t want it to be 90 degrees. There is a little walking between lines and waiting on the platform in the heat is not ideal, especially for kiddos and older folks.
  • Wear sunscreen
  • Wear bugspray – you’re in the woods, so those pesky skeeters will get up in your business mid zip. Zero chill.

My last recommendation is to do the final 60 foot drop. It’s basically a straight up and down line with a stopping mechanism. Taking that first step off the platform is seriously scary, but it’s worth it. Def a must do.

Successful first zip experience. It felt good to do something different on a Saturday morning! I should also point out that Xtreme Park Adventures has the only ziplines in the Triangle with the automatic stopping mechanism. What does this mean? It means you don’t have to worry about stopping yourself and/or careening into a platform during your whole ride! Takes a lot of the worry out of zipping.

IMG_8370

Xtreme Park Adventures is open seven days a week from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. Keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming Halloween event + new stuff coming in 2018, including a ropes course and Kid’s Zone!

Group bookings are available at all hours and no reservations are required for individual players. For more information or to make a reservation, visit xtremeparkadventures.com or call 919.596.6100.

 

// Giveaway alert! //

Super excited about this giveaway! I’m partnering with Kannon’s Clothing in Raleigh to giveaway a $25 gift card to a lucky winner!

Kannon's Women's store (1)

Kannon’s is a men and women’s clothing store in Cameron Village. I recommend that you go read the about section on their website, because it’s just adorbz, but suffice it to say that this store is family-owned and hyper local. Kannon’s is one of the oldest family-owned stores in the country and the oldest in North Carolina! Head over to either the men or women’s location ASAP (that’s two stores ya’ll!).

 

If you want to a have a Kannon’s experience of your own (fo freeeee), all you have to do is (1) like Kannon’s Clothing on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/KannonsClothing/) and (2) follow Kannon’s Clothing on Instagram (@kannonsretail). Once you enter, just let me know by either commenting on my Instagram post, commenting on this post, or tweeting at me!

 

Cheers ya’ll!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

