// Rolling Sculpture //

That’s a fancy way of saying super pretty cars ya’ll.

A few days back I headed to the North Carolina Museum of Art for a sneak peek of their new exhibit, Rolling Sculpture: Art Deco Cars from the 1930s and ’40s.” I’m not even a car person, but this exhibit is exceptional. Check it.

2016-09-28-11-15-35

/ Vroom Vroom /

My initial thoughts during the first half of this exhibit were how stressful it would be to get the cars into the museum. “Here’s a one of a kind vehicle dating back to 1934, please carefully transport it into the back room of a museum down a number of flights of stairs.” Terrifying. Thankfully, I didn’t see any dents (or else they angled the cars just so…).

This exhibit focuses on the decorative and industrial designs of cars during the ’30s and ’40s (think streamlined/futuristic). Seeing these cars, it really struck me how much we’ve moved away from glamour and luxury. Trust me, I love a good economic car (I drive a tiny Ford Focus), but there’s something nostalgic about dreaming of driving one of these bad boys. For an actual photo of me the moment I stepped into this exhibit click here.

Before I get into the cars, I will disclose that we heard a TON of facts about the exhibit and the featured cars, but, I’m not going to recite them here for the sake of brevity and accuracy. Your best bet is to check out the exhibit. I’m not an encyclopedia.

2016-09-28-10-12-35
1 out of 12 made. 

Apparently this 1938 Talbot-Lago (she writes as if she knew anything about this car prior to attending the exhibit) was owned by the Marriotts (hotel people). As if we all needed another reason to dislike them…

2016-09-28-10-18-35
Getting the low down.

This is a 1936 Peugeot, which was a racing car. My favorite part was the leather straps used to hold down the hood during a race.

2016-09-28-10-41-19

One of my favorite cars was the 1933 Pierce-Arrow Silver Arrow. Okay, it’s mostly because of the hood ornament of the archer, but it’s also just incredibly cool looking.  Five were made, three survive. I’ll take it!

There were also some motorcycles clearly used in the Tron series. (Note: these motorcycles were not actually used in the Tron series.) For real though, the BMW Concept bike was the only one ever made. BMW created it and then put it in a crate. It wasn’t found until 2007.

2016-09-28-10-21-46

Shoutout to this Ruxton, which hopped on the ombre band wagon well before the rest of us. This is 1 out of 5 Ruxton cars that got this paint job.

2016-09-28-10-58-57
I had to lighten the picture a ton to be able to see the lender. Great story and cool guy.

I have to take one minute to shoutout to the 1941 Chrysler Thunderbolt. First, it’s beautiful. Second, the lender was there to share his heartwarming story of when he first laid eyes on the car when he was young. He also drove it on the Indy 500 track and smoked the other cars. #merica

2016-09-28-10-37-25

The exhibit finishes off with a Bugatti. ‘Cue me making it rain over the Bugatti to any rap song ever made.

I really loved this exhibit. No matter your level of interest in cars, I think you’ll be able to find something you love about this exhibit. Another positive: it’s family friendly!

Rolling Sculpture opens this Saturday, October 1, 2016, at the North Carolina Museum of Art, East Building, Meymandi Exhibition Gallery. 

// International Bluegrass Music Festival //

This weekend, the IBMA rolls into Raleigh. Check out EVERYWHERE to hear bluegrass. For real, I’ve seen people playing on the street, in coffee shops, in bars, and on the deck of my apartment complex. Check out Instagram and Twitter to see where the free shows are and get more information on the festival here.

Here’s a shot of the Slocan Ramblers and 10 String Symphony playing on our deck last night. If you have a chance to see either of these bands, I would highly recommend it!

2016-09-29-18-10-34

2016-09-29-19-01-29

 

I’m heading to Charleston this weekend for a wedding and following it up with a 2 week Euro trip. Check out my Instagram to follow along.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

