// Is this real life? //

Legitimate question we asked ourselves during 21 Marbles, adult night at the kids museum.

Hope everyone is having a great holiday weekend so far. Zach and I have been incredibly lazy and this rainy weather certainly isn’t helping in the motivation department. We are ready to get out and about today, and hope to see some of you at the The ‘Works, downtown Raleigh’s 4th of July celebration. Get more info here. My must sees: Gouge Wrestling (see my blog post about them here), the hog dog eating contest at Tasty 8’s, and, of course, fireworks at 9:30. Don’t miss it!

// 21 Marbles //

Last weekend Zach and I headed to the kids museum for adult night, otherwise known as 21 Marbles. We don’t have kids (unless you count the Notorious RED, which I do), so the museum itself was new to us. Let me just say that when I do have kids, Marbles will be a must visit.

I know I completely overgrammed this event, but every single thing there was hilarious and fun. It was crazy cool to see adults getting so into building a castle out of giant legos, designing a koozie, or playing in the imagination stations. Let’s be honest though, we tore that place up. The kids probably came in on Monday being like, “this is why we can’t trust adults with our toys.”  The night started fairly conservative, but got considerably more rowdy as it progressed. This is to be expected. Give us a few beers and life-size connect four and we clearly cannot be trusted.

Check it.

2016-06-24 18.05.05
Let the chaos begin….

We started with the first adventure room, which featured Hungry Hungry Humans, a life-sized take on Hungry Hungry Hippos, bike jousting, and bouncy races. We did Hungry Hungry Humans, and let me just say, I walked away with some serious carpet burn. We were out for blood and my pusher (aka husband) was not holding back. Obviously I couldn’t get any pictures of us, but I snapped some of others. As you can see, the hippo helmet made it all worth it…

We spent a lot of time getting in touch with our inner child:

Again, complete children over here. We didn’t miss it on the “arts and crafts.” We hit up the Koozie making station.

2016-06-24 19.16.37

2016-06-24 19.27.18
The finished product. My beer is such a little hipster.
2016-06-24 18.49.04
Giant beer pong. Definitely a must do.

There were two events that were the absolute funnest. The first was a fun team sport full of camaraderie and encouragement. The other, a dark free-for-all where friends become enemies.

The first, human foosball, was incredibly cool. Each player has to keep both hands on the handles and try to score on the other team. Just like in foosball, the ball is sometimes out of reach and you look ridiculous trying to stretch as far as you can to keep it in play.

2016-06-24 19.21.51

The line for human foosball was huge, so we only got to play once. Definitely looking forward to spending more time here at the next one.

My next favorite event, though terrifying, was Nerf tag. Once you entered this dark black light-filled room, it was every man for himself. We grabbed guns and took off running.

One minute, playful husband and wife. The next, worst enemies. Nerf tag changes people…. We had the welts the next day, but it was all worth it.

A ton of people have asked how I heard about this event. My number one recommendation is to sign up for  e-mail alerts so you know when tickets go on sale. By the time you here about it on Facebook or Instagram, tickets will likely be sold out. Did I mention how much of steal this event is? $10.00!! I know.

As if the event itself wasn’t perfect enough, they bid us farewell with ice pops. Love.

2016-06-24 20.57.00

 

// Tidbits //

Just a few pics and tidbits from the past week.

/ Raleigh Denim / 

We spent last Sunday queued up at the Raleigh Denim Sample Sale. We’re so lucky to have such a well-regarded brand right in downtown and we try to shop there whenever we can. Of course, with locally made raw denim, there comes a large price tag. Fortunately, Raleigh Denim has a sample sale every June/July where you can get their jeans for a significant discount. To keep in the loop about the date of the sale, follow them on social and sign-up for their e-mail list.

This event is absolute worth the wait. We walked away with eight pairs for the price of one. Killer.

 

/ Standard Foods / 

On Saturday we kicked off the long weekend with a couples massage at Cary Massage. It was amazing. Then we headed to Lumina Clothing so Zach could pick up one of their new t-shirts (pic to come). All that relaxing had me wanting to relax even more, so I popped into the grocery side of Standard Foods for an ice cream sandwich.

If you don’t know, Standard Foods is a FANTASTIC restaurant off of Person Street (check out my blog post on them here), but they also have a grocery section where you can snag local ingredients for recipes of your own. I, of course, had no interest in cooking, but wanted to snag one of their to-go ice cream sammies. I chose the cinnamon honey and it was absolute delicious. The cookie sections themselves were TO DIE for.

2016-07-02 15.30.55

 

Can’t wait to head out into downtown today and celebrate ‘Merica! Have an amazing short week Raleigh!

Cheers.

 

7 thoughts on “// Is this real life? //

  1. I loved Marbles for my kids when they were young but I have missed going now that they are grown. GOSH I had no idea they had an adult night…. OK ITS on my radar now and gotta go next time! WOOT

    Like

  2. Oh gosh! Adult night at Marbles? Haha I actually went there recently to see the National Parks IMAX film and while I was there I had the thought that it would be tons of fun to explore the museum without kids around. How did I miss out on this?! Looks like it was awesome.
    Also, I missed the Raleigh Denim sample sale?! Gahhhhh, ultimate fail on my part. I love love love my Raleigh denim jeans. They’re the only jeans I wear anymore. Note to self: don’t ignore their emails next summer 🙂
    Looks like a lot of fun overall!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This looks amazing. I’ve been to one science center after hours in Ft. Lauderdale – loads of fun. Now wondering if they do this in any of the Charlotte museums.

    I love the name of this event, 21 Marbles. And since I do have kids, I have to remember to visit when we’re in Raleigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually have a friend in Charlotte who did an adult beverage night at the science museum there. I would try to keep an eye out for those type of events. I think it’s definitely becoming popular everywhere. Not to mention, so much more fun without kiddos around!

      Like

Leave a Reply

