// Where to Begin //

First thought to enter my head after stepping into the Raleigh Food and Wine Festival. Answer: with doughnuts from Rise.

// Raleigh Food and Wine Festival //

I spent my weekend in Senoia, Georgia, an adorable little town outside of Atlanta, celebrating my nieces graduation. The town also just so happens to be the town where Walking Dead is filmed. Very cool. However, even the zombies couldn’t keep me. By Sunday, after rolling many napkins into tiny diplomas, I was ready to get home and get my Raleigh on (like getting your sexy on, but somehow sexier).

Sunday was the Raleigh Food and Wine Festival. You may recall that I hosted a giveaway for VIP tickets a month or so ago. Fortunately, the #RFWF peeps hooked me up with a pair of my own so I could partake in the all the goodness.

The Festival was at Babylon, our neighborhood Moroccan-style paradise. I always feel like a sultan when I’m at Babylon, and that’s without VIP tickets.

We were overwhelmed (in the best way). So many food and drink options. Local Raleigh restaurants, bars, and vendors set up on the first and second floor of Babylon and handed out their fabulous products. Check it.

2016-05-22 12.59.40

Let me start by saying that the upstairs room at Babylon is gorgeous and makes a perfect venue. Now on to the main events.

/ Food / 

2016-05-22 12.32.07
You thought I was joking when I said I started with doughnuts. I was serious. As serious as the heart attack I could have any day now.

Rise was nearby to supply their amazing doughnuts. I tried the creme brûlée and fruity pebbles. Both were fantastic (as usual). Can we also just take a moment to check out the guy from Rise, who is clearly judging my life choices? You think you’re better than me because you wear blue gloves while you eat your doughnuts? Get on my level.

Moving on to some actual sustenance….

2016-05-22 13.07.09

2016-05-22 12.46.46
Bites from Indio

If you haven’t heard, the peeps at Blue Mango on Glenwood South changed their name to Indio. They specialize in contemporary-style Indian cuisine.

Holy macaroon tower from Lucette Grace. The birthday cake macaroon was to die for. Plan for next year: steal macaroon tower and eat in corner alone.

/ Wine / 

Were you guys getting nervous? Did you think I neglected to try the wine part of the festival? Fear not. I did and it was divine.

2016-05-22 13.23.59
The Queen of Wines. Just call her Khaleesi.

2016-05-22 14.25.00

2016-05-22 13.01.12
Raleigh Wine Shop killed it with their selections. Head over there to score some bottles.

 

I want to shout out to the none-wine beverages that showed up as well. Although I completely neglected to take a picture, props to Raleigh Rum Company for mixing up an amazing hurricane.

2016-05-22 12.55.07

Crude Bitters was serving bourbon with your choice of bitter. I chose the “Lindsay” (for obvious reasons) which contains flavors of pecan, magnolia, and habanero. You guys, I honestly think that bitter was made for me. Just look at those flavors.

If you aren’t familiar with Crude Bitters, they’re North Carolina’s first cocktail bitters company. Also want to highlight the fact that they do cocktail classes at Crude Bitters and Cocktails. Check out their schedule here. I have my eye on that Negroni class.

/ Entertainment / 

To cap off the event, we enjoyed listening to the DJ outside and the singer inside.

The Raleigh Food and Wine Festival is officially one of my go-to events downtown. It was a great way to try some delicious local foods, sip some fantastic local wines, and meet some spectacular local business owners. You really cannot go wrong with local.

 

// ACC Tournament //

I’m writing this post after just having gotten home from the ACC Baseball Tournament at the Durham Bulls Stadium. Zach’s boss invited us to the game tonight. Fortunately, we had perfect weather, awesome seats, and Wake Forest was playing (we went there for law school)!

If you’ve never been to a Durham Bulls game you really are missing out. We’re lucky to have this stadium close to Raleigh, particularly one equipped with a giant bull that goes crazy when someone hits a home run. You really can’t get that just anywhere. Check it.

2016-05-25 19.02.29
Bright Sunshiney Day
2016-05-25 19.17.07
Behold: BBQ nachos. 

That’s right. I also made this event about eating.

2016-05-25 19.29.12
In case you forgot you were at the ACC Tournament, they had signs everywhere to remind you.

Beautiful night and a great game (besides the fact that Wake got crushed under Louisville’s giant bird foot).

I’m headed to Nebraska for the weekend for Zach’s sisters’ wedding. Hopefully I’ll be able to fit in some more local love on Monday during the holiday. In the meantime, I’ll just leave with you these terrifyingly huge baseball “people” that run around the Bulls stadium at an unknown time during the game. Shudder.

2016-05-25 20.26.04

Cheers ya’ll.

 

4 thoughts on “// Where to Begin //

Leave a Reply

