// Bless her heart //

Go to phrase for the Southern Women’s Show.

// Southern Women’s Show // 

Last night I headed to the fairgrounds for a sneak peek of the Southern Women’s Show. Shoutout to the NC Bloggers Network for giving me the opportunity to check out this event. Check out the show this weekend, April 23 and April 24.

If you were looking for a weekend spot where you can learn about canning your own food, get an astrological reading, AND drink a Bud Light Lime-A-Rita,well my friend you are in luck. But, for real, there are a ton of cool things to do at this year’s show. Make sure to get in early and check out the schedule so you can catch all of the special events. Check out the pics from last night’s preview:

2016-04-21 18.54.09
Cool talk on Teen Cancer America – great cause! 

We got to hear from some of the sponsor’s and special speakers. My favorite was Barbara Grufferman, author of The Best of Everything After 50. Barbara is preaching full on body and age positivity. Let me tell you, Barbara must be doing something right. I was thinking, “Wow, she looks great. She’s probably about 50.” Then she said she’s turning 60 this year and I was all like, “Wahhhhh???” Keep on keepin’ on Barbara.

I got to sample new Bud Lite Lime-A-Rita Splash. It has less alcohol and calories than the standard Lime-A-Rita. Full disclosure: I’m not a sweet drink kinda lass, but I know so many people who would make this their drink of choice at the lake or beach. We also tried out some Sweetheart Treats cupcakes (Note: they’re made with champagne!). Holy delish. PDQ will also be at the show offering free samples of their delicious chicken and sauces. I didn’t snag a pic of the chicken, as I was too busy nomming away.

2016-04-21 19.15.48
Belk is running almost a full aisle of the show and doing free makeovers! 

2016-04-21 19.33.50

Definitely check out the boutique above, located in the back of the Jim Graham Building. Interact is a super stellar non-profit that provides support and awareness to victims and survivors of domestic violence and rape/sexual assault. The “Pass it On Thriftique” shop is selling gently used clothing at a great price to raise money. Can’t miss: on Sunday afternoon you can fill up a full bag for $25.00. Get more info here.

2016-04-21 19.25.42

Now onto my wheelhouse: food (duh). The Food Lion stage will be one of the coolest events in my humble opinion. The stage will feature cook-offs, taste tests, and Iron Chef-like battle royals. To the death. Kidding. But maybe…. anything can happen at the Southern Women’s Show….

In all seriousness, this should be a great time. Definitely a diverse and fun lineup of things to do. Make sure to visit the website for a complimentary glass of Barefoot wine and other coupons. Get more info here.

// Green Monkey //

Before I jet, I want to mention an insanely cool downtown Raleigh shop I visited a few weekends back. The shop: The Green Monkey. Whenever you’re on Hillsborough Street (or if you’re not, but want to be) head over to the coolest downtown gift shop around. Check the website/blog here.

2016-04-09 19.10.23

This shop has taken a bunch of local brands and brought them together into one well-curated shop. This place just feels like Raleigh. Cool and welcoming vibes. The message: all local all the time. Trust me when I say, they deliver.

2016-04-09 19.25.14
Got to meet the owners, Rusty Sutton and Drew Temple. Super cool guys spreading the good local wwoorrdd. Word up Rusty and Drew.
2016-04-09 19.36.28
I was told these folks are the reg crowd. Love it.

Oh yea, did I mention there’s a bar inside slinging local drafts? Yea. Minor detail. The Green Monkey also hosts a lot of special events. A while back they hosted the launch party for local t-shirt company Pass the Gravy NC. They also host Comics Anonymous on the fourth Thursday of every month and feature local comedians. All in all: great place, great people, great stuff, great beer. Conclusion: great time.

// Such fun, Much post //

Ya’ll I’ve been having wayyyyy to much fun lately. I have checked out so many cool events. So many more posts to come. I know you are just waiting with bated breath.

Cheers DTR.

 

 

One thought on “// Bless her heart //

Leave a Reply

