// Could it be //

My thoughts while participating in the horrible act of running, but in that dreadful process discovering that Manhattan Cafe now serves brunch.

Sorry for the slightly over a week delay on da blog. I’ve been all over the place at work and started Making a Murderer. Surely you understand. To the blog! Two big things up in hurrr. up in hurrr. 

// Manhattan Cafe //

Manhattan Cafe is a few blocks away from my apartment, quietly tucked away on Wilmington Street. Zach and I have been wanting to try it forever, but they close on 4 p.m. on the weeknights and were closed during the weekend. That is…. until now.

Last weekend Zach and I went for a run (ew, I know). Whilst running down Wilmington we saw it:

2016-01-09 13.28.10
Cue the choir

We did what any reasonably healthy person would do, ran a few miles, showered so as to not be disgusting, and then walked to some brunch. Check it.

2016-01-09 13.28.21

2016-01-09 13.30.10
They make fresh made doughnuts every morning. Yaassss.

Zach and I chose the light appetizer of the maple bacon doughnut.

2016-01-09 13.32.39

I’m going to say something controversial here people. This doughnut was better than Rise. There. I said it. It literally tasted like this was a full cinnamon roll under that glaze and candied bacon.

We then moved onto the main course. Zach had the biscuits and gravy and loved it. I went with the proscuitto mozzarella sandwich. It was absolutely perfect and so fresh.

2016-01-09 13.34.43

I also want to note the orange sauce in the background. It’s basically like Zaxby’s sauce (a.k.a. my favorite thing in the world and the main reason I moved south).

Overall, I give Manhattan Cafe brunch a solid A+. I was very pleasantly surprised since it was there first weekend open for brunch. Also, it’s reasonably priced. I also want to note that the people working there were SO nice. Great experience. I’ll definitely be back.

// Mash & Lauter //

As most of you know, the geniuses that brought you Busy Bee, Trophy, and State of Beer, recently converted The Hive (club style bar above Busy Bee) to a Belgian beer bar (NOT a club style bar above Busy Bee). We headed over there on Tuesday night for a few drinks for the purposes of delivering this review (purely business-related of course).

I had been to The Hive once or twice before, but only when I have friends in town who want to go dancing and I don’t want to go to Glenwood South (heels are hard). The Hive wasn’t really the type of place you’d just go to hang out… until now! I’m seriously vibing on Mash & Lauter. Check it.

2016-01-12 21.48.17
They still offer cocktails. Obviously. 
2016-01-12 20.16.40
Cook dark wood and candles vibe. 

Wow. Check out that angled photograph. This blogger is something special. Obviously a full blown photographer now.

2016-01-12 20.14.26

The inside still looks pretty similar to The Hive. I’ve heard they still have a few things to come, I’m getting it concerns arrangements and possible art on the walls. Honestly just adding a few candles and moving the tables around gave this place more of a smoking lounge feel.

2016-01-12 20.26.44

2016-01-12 20.30.50
Local bread plate

Have to take a quick second to brag on the local bread plate. It came with duck rilete, house-made butter, and beer cheese. So good. One of the more important announcements to come out of this place is oysters. Yes. Can’t wait to go back every day and eat oysters. Yea, you read that correctly. I said every day.

There are a lot of changes going on downtown with some places closing and others opening. 2016 is off to a great start in Raleigh and I’m excited to see where the local options take us this year. With Manhattan Cafe brunch and a Belgian beer bar… I’m listening 2016. I’m listening.

// Freakin’ Weekend //

Great weekend in store, per the usual. Tomorrow night we’ll be hitting up the first red sauce dinner at Joule. There should still be times available for the next few weekends so make sure to book seats if you want to go. I’ll be blogging about it after this weekend if you want to check it out.

We have friends coming into town Saturday morning. That means hopping around from place to place and generally eating, drinking, and being the absolute merriest. Spots we hope to hit up: Raleigh Beer Garden, Bida Manda, Wine Feed, and State of Beer. If you have any suggestions for must-dos in Raleigh, let me know!

/ Saturday /

I have two event recommendations for Saturday.

Stout Wars: Head over to Big Boss Brewing on Saturday from 2:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. This should be a great event with lots of delicious stouts. Get more info here.

Rodeo: Don’t worry guys. Once you’ve spent the day at Big Boss, head over to PNC Arena on Saturday night for “World’s Toughest Rodeo.” Yes. A real rodeo.  Tickets for kids under 12 are half price! Get more info here.

Can’t wait to eat so much Italian food tomorrow and hang with friends this weekend. Hope everyone has a great weekend. Just gotta push on through tomorrow. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

