// Winner Winner //

My thoughts while rolling up to the brand spanking new Trophy Brewing location a week (or two… who’s counting?) back.

Welcome back to my blog everyone. No, you weren’t gone for a long time. I was. Hope everyone had a swell holiday.  Zach, Notorious RED, and I soaked up the sun over in Emerald Isle for about 10 days. It was glorious. Now it’s back to reality. Thank the Lord MLK Jr. day is right around the corner, am I right?

Now let’s talk about some cool stuff. Hooray!

// Trophy on Maywood //

A couple nights before heading to the beach Zach and I checked out the new Trophy Brewing location. If you live under an actual rock (I swear it’s the only way you wouldn’t know this), Trophy Brewing, everyone’s favorite Raleigh brewery and pizza joint, just opened an enormous brewery and tap room on Maywood. You guys, this new locale is everything I’ve dreamt of and more.

2015-12-21 20.49.18
Imagine an angelic chorus singing as you walk up

The inside of the brewery is really well done. There’s a nice seating area with tables and seats at the bar. It’s a little reminiscent of State of Beer, another favorite of mine (same owners). Most importantly, you can sit at the bar and gaze upon the approximately 28,000 square foot space. Check it.

Bright and shiny. Just how I like em. Do I know what any of these things do? No. Do I approve? Most definitely.

Best part about more space is that the brewers get to make more varieties of beer than they could at their first location. Zach and I sat at the bar. Stellar view.

2015-12-21 20.52.47
Pictured: St. Drausinus + cleaning bottle in background

2015-12-21 20.51.12

So, since I’m totally in the know I got some information about the food dealio at this new location. (Note: when I say I’m in the know, I mean I asked the bartender, “What’s this pizza situation, yo?”) Anways, apparently, Trophy also purchased the building next door and have plans to open up a Trophy restaurant in early 2017. Miracles do happen every once in a while after all.

// Joule // 

After we got back from vacation, I was dying for some local grub. We hit up a ton of local spots over the weekend: Bittersweet, Busy Bee, Trophy, etc. One of the highlights was brunching it up on Saturday morning at Joule.

If you’ve never been to Joule it is one of the many brainchildren of Raleigh prodigy Ashley Christensen. It’s a fantastic little restaurant and coffee shop next to Busy Bee. The architecture has an older feel and gives off a super cozy vibe. I love to sit in the window and look out at the city (and people watch).

2016-01-02 09.40.06
Scored the window seat. Killin’ it.
2016-01-02 09.40.20
View from inside.
2016-01-02 09.40.30
Chilly city morning.

Joule has quite possibly my favorite brunch dish in Raleigh: The Hangover. Do you have to be hungover to eat it? You sure don’t. It’s delicious all the same. It’s basically cheesy grits, bacon, and pico de gallo. Trust me. It’s amazing. Weirdly, I don’t even really like grits, but this is magical.

2016-01-02 09.49.02
If you don’t go for the food, at least go for the experience of eating with a spork. So rare.

Joule is also an amazing coffee shop. It’s topped a few “best of” lists and I couldn’t agree more.

2016-01-02 09.49.53
I know pics like these are a dime a dozen on Instagram, but what can I say? I’m basic.

This lovely discussion about Joule has perfectly primed me for a discussion regarding what do this weekend. Way to go me!

// Freakin’ Weekend //

/ Red Sauce Dinners /

If you haven’t visited Joule, I would recommend going there every weekend for brunch. BUT for the next three weekends Joule is transforming itself into a classic red sauce joint for a family style Italian meal. You won’t want to miss it. Get the details here.

/ NCMA: Escher and DaVinci /

Good news! The Escher exhibit has been extended until January 24. Bad News! The Leonard da Vinci Codex Leicester exhibit has not. To get more bang for your buck (you can get a ticket to both exhibits for $18.00), head over there this weekend. I’m going on Saturday. Yes, I’m a terrible blogger and I haven’t been yet. Lame.

That’s all for now peeps. If any other crazy events come up I’ll be sure to keep you posted. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

