// Requiring All the Food //

Basically me all weekend. I’d like to say I participated in more events around town, but I honestly just ate all the things. Still though… No ragrets.

// GARLAND //

In honor of Garland’s two year anniversary tomorrow, I wanted to do a post on the dinner Zach and I had there the other night. If you haven’t been to Garland, it’s an absolute must. I hear a lot of people comparing Garland to Bida Manda (another fave). I think it is a good comparison, but they’re different enough that I don’t have to pull out the Highlander, “There can only be one,” quote.

/ The Restaurant /

First off, let me just say  I was vibing on the decor in this place. Modern bowling alley floor + 70s mod vibe.

Check it.

2015-12-05 19.25.07

2015-12-05 20.55.45
Bowling alley floor // up-cycled in my opinion
2015-12-05 20.24.35
Penny floor in the bathroom. Yes. I’m the type of person who takes pictures of floors in bathrooms. I’m an absolute embarrassment to be out with.

After I walked into this place, I was all like, “Oh Dawling, I must have the name of your decorator.” Sometimes, when I’m in places I like, I turn into a high class woman from Savannah who owns a home and has money to decorate. LOL. Silly me.

/ The Food /

2015-12-05 19.32.38

We started the night with the Moroccan Hummus. I loved it because it was so different. The chickpeas are whole instead of blended. Noms.

2015-12-05 19.47.26

We moved on to the Tandoor Charred Octopus. I’m been super into octopus recently. Particularly when it looks like this:

2015-12-05 19.52.55
Tandoor Charred Octopus

… But really not when it looks like this. I have to say, this was my favorite thing on the menu. Would it be weird if I went back and ordered like six orders of the octopus? Probs going to at some point. No judgment.

Next up: the Lamb Curry. My gosh. Also delicious.

2015-12-05 20.25.13

Garland is pretty darn perfect. Good portions. Great price.  If you haven’t been, I recommend heading their tomorrow for their second anniversary. They’re having specials and, according to their Instagram, “festivities.” I honestly have no idea what the festivities are. Assuming its unlimited Tandoor Octopus. #dreambig

// I LIKE BIG BOOKS AND DEFINITELY CANNOT LIE //

This past weekend was the Wake County book sale. You may not know this about me (not sure why you would when all I talk about on here is food) but I’m a big reader. I’m lucky enough to have a husband who is as well.

If you enjoy reading at all, get this event on your calendar for next year. Sunday was the BEST. You could buy a box of books for $3.00. Zach and I bought four boxes of books for, yep, fairly simple math here, $12.00.

2015-12-12 16.05.34
Books as far as the eye could see.

2015-12-12 16.05.30

So….ultimately, we ended up with 175 books.

2015-12-13 18.39.10
// The haul // 

So hey. Here’s the thing. Let me know if you know of any good bookshelf makers. Zach and I got a little aggressive here. Also we live in a 700 square foot apt. Awkward.

Oh well, totally worth it. It’s kind of like, why not just cover your apartment in books? It makes me feel amazing.

I hope everyone else had a great weekend. Unless you also purchased 175 books, spoiler alert, you didn’t have as great a weekend as I. Comin’ at you  later this week with some weekend recommendations and more fun stuff from around our fine city!

Also next week is Christmas. Start panicking.

Leave a Reply

