// Gypsy Soul //

The more I look at the word Gypsy, the more it doesn’t look like I word. I’m messing with my own mind.

Sorry for the brief hiatus. I traveled back home to Cleveland over Thanksgiving with the hubs and the Notorious RED. Like the rest of you (if you did it right at all) we ate everything in sight, were incredibly lazy, and currently hate ourselves.

Now we’re back in the act and trying to prepare for the food self-destruction that is Christmas. // In other news, it’s a new and beautiful week in Raleigh with lots to do.

// Gypsy Jule //

I must discuss my new favorite retail spot. Gypsy Jule is a fantastic store that just opened under the L complex on Davie Street. If you have a soul of any capacity, this store (and its owner) should be your soul sister.

2015-12-02 18.42.41

When I stopped in I met the owner, Julie (Gypsy Jule… get it…she’s Jule. Honestly it took me until the second time saying Julie to conned the two. Embarrassing.) I also met Court, one of the great employees in the shop. Julie showed me around, made some great recommendations, and I got down to business. When I say business, I mean I walked around touching everything and wishing I was rich. I walked away with two dresses. Pics to come when I wear them!

I’ll level with you guys. This store looks like what would happen if I all of a sudden (completely improbably) developed a fashion sense and could put things I like into an actual design. Flannels, ponchos, and oversized sweaters abound. It’s a dream.

Check it.

2015-12-02 18.40.34
Is this Heaven? Maybe. Though I suspect it’s just a photo of the inside of Gypsy Jule.

The space itself looks like a rustic cabin combine with Stevie Nicks’ trailer. Again, a total dream.

2015-12-02 18.29.13
I see you Sir Walter Raleigh. I see you.

Even though I walked away with two items, I’m already waiting to go back.

Wish list:

  1. For work: this mug that says “Man Tears.” Hilarious.

2015-12-02 18.40.48

2. For life: any of these boots.

2015-12-02 18.41.02

3. For fun: Unicorn earrings.

2015-12-02 18.39.38

I’m currently working not he headstone for my bank account. It will soon be dead, as I live unnaturally close to this store. New catch phrase: “I have nothing to wear, I’m walking to Gypsy Jule.”

// Stag’s Head //

After visit Gypsy Jule we made our way over to Stag’s Head for trivia with a few friends. Stag’s Head is a beer hall and bottle shop on Glenwood South. It’s amazing. Click here for more details. My favorite thing about Stag’s Head is that they always have something to do. Just this week they had swing dancing lessons on Monay (fo freeee), screened Ace Ventura on Tuesday, and had trivia today. It’s like they understand that running a business means giving the people what they want.

2015-12-02 20.03.28

Anywhooo the trivia was run by Geeks who Drink. I’ve been to a few trivias in Raleigh and this is the best one. BY FAR. I feel like trivia usually has two gears: Impossible (name the last secretary to the postmaster of Lithuania) or ridiculously easy (what color is a firetruck?). This one was perfect. It was challenging, but doable.

I also want to point out the fabulous host. This is Alex. Queue up ladies.

2015-12-02 20.42.16
Rawr.

Great night // Great trivia // Great beer // Great pals

Sorry that last bit was almost sentimental. Moving on to the weekend.

// Freakin’ Weekend //

Gear up ya’ll, it’ll be here before you know it. Here are my picks for the weekend.

// First Friday //

Of course, First Friday its his weekend. It’s supposed to be nice out (I’m not a weatherman so don’t quote me), so it should be a great time to get out enjoy our last few days of warm weather.

// Ipreo Winterfest //

This Saturday is the official kickoff party for all things winter in downtown Raleigh. I personally don’t believe in celebrating the season of winter, but to each their own. Even with this blasphemy of supporting weather under 50 degrees, there are some cool things to be seen. The ice skating rink is open. For $10 a person you can get rent skates and they even let you go skate with them!

Winterfest will also feature a gingerbread house contest, food trucks, including Pho Nomenal Dumpling Truck, the season 6 winner of Food Network’s The Great Food Truck Race, and most importantly, fun with the whole family (jk, we all know the dumplings are the most important thing).

Seriously important Winterfest activities: the tree lighting with the mayor (THE MAYOR YOU GUYZZ) is at 7:00 p.m. and local treasure American Aquarium plays the main stage at 7:30 p.m. Click here for more info.

// Imma let you finish //

Before I jet, I want to give a quick shoutout to the Raleigh Christmas Parade and Shop Local Raleigh for putting it on. It was absolutely fantastic. Also a shoutout to Paddy O’Beers for being open so early!

I think we can all agree the real hero of the parade was this Oscar the Grouch balloon that couldn’t quite get it together.

2015-11-21 11.01.29
Shlumpy McShlumperson

 Thought this photo would help you kick off the Christmas season.

Cheers!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

