// Home Sweet Home //

Things I say to myself while getting a sneak peek of Vita Vite, the new wine bar/art gallery on Hargett across from Cafe de los Meurtos.

// FLIGHT //

Over the weekend I got my local shopping on at the new pop-up shop, FLIGHT, at 17 E. Martin St. // FLIGHT (the fund) is a fund used to provide grants for urban projects. // FLIGHT (the shop) is a cool local shop with products from a bunch of local venders. // A flight (of beer) is just something you can get at any self respecting bar. Now that we have our flights straight… onto pics of the shop!

2015-11-07 14.07.40
Bright colors and strings. Already off to a great start.
2015-11-07 14.22.46
More strings. I support it.

2015-11-07 14.23.39

View from the back of the store.
View from the back of the store.
I want that bottom pillow.
I want that bottom pillow.

A ton of local artists and retailers have come together to bring their products under one roof. I was excited to see a great crowd of people on Saturday afternoon. I’m hoping a lot of people stumbled in after the wine festival and shopped local! Things I have my eye on: one of those tall candles (exhibit A) with, not a picture of Jesus, but a photo of Sophia from the Golden Girls and the phrase “You look like a prostitute,” a hand towel that says have a holly, Raleigh Christmas, and one of these bags:

Any one will do.
Any one will do.

You may all feel free to purchase any of the above items for me. I also accept any Raleigh clothing or mugs. Definitely make it a point to stop by this shop. It’s open seven days a week through December.

Fly like paper get high like planes.
Fly like paper get high like planes.

// Vita Vite //

In other very important Raleigh news, this afternoon I took a sneak peek of the new wine bar and art gallery, Vita Vite (pronunciation: Veet-uh, Veet-ehhhhh (like how Fonzie says it). The name comes from the Italian words for “life” and “vine.” You’re welcome. You now speak Italian.

Very cool idea behind this place. Owner Lindsay Rice (who spells her name correctly, LindsAy) is one cool chick who loves the idea of bringing people together over art and wine. I love this idea. Today she described how she wants to break down barriers between art and wine, as they can both often be intimidating. She wanted this to be a relaxed space that feels like a home. She hit the nail on the head. I wanted to cozy up on one of these day beds with my husband and a glass of red. Check it.

Grey walls, neutral accents, wood errrywhere, and a couple fireplaces.
Grey walls, neutral accents, wood errrywhere, and a couple fireplaces.

Lindsay wanted to keep the space simple and rustic. The mantle you see in the photo above is reclaimed from the beams that were part of the country bar that used to occupy this space.

Although the walls are a little on the blank side now, they will eventually be covered with rotating art.
Although the walls are a little on the blank side now, they will eventually be covered with rotating art.

The art is all by Southern artists. Lindsay kept as much as she could of the former building. The concrete floors are the same. You will see a ton of repurposed brick, iron, and wood.

Gorgeous bar // Lighting details
Gorgeous bar // Lighting details

2015-11-10 11.20.09

There’s a fantastic outdoor space with fireplaces. This area is dog-friendly, so bring your pooch!

Every time I'm there I get this swing. No takesies backsies.
Every time I’m there I get this swing. No takesies backsies.
Local products for sale in the main area.

Also, Lindsay has designed a huge event space in the back, complete with catering kitchen. Now I need an event to plan…

Love this bathroom floor. Yes, even the bathroom is amazing you guys.
Love this bathroom floor. Yes, even the bathroom is amazing you guys.

Did I mention that there will be cheese plates? I don’t know if you guys know this about me, but a good cheese plate is just about my favorite thing in the world. I’m sure this will not be the last time I mention this on the blog.

Shout out to Lucette Grace and Durham soda company, Brood, for providing lunch!

2015-11-10 11.25.23

I can’t wait to get to this spot when it is open. They will feature 20 wines and six rotating craft beers. I also want to say that there is plenty of room here for big groups so bring all your friends. Hopefully, Vita Vite will be open by this weekend, but they are waiting on a permit to wrap up. If not, they will for sure be open next weekend.

// Look out for the Freakin’ Weekend post later this week. I will be trying Standard Foods this weekend (yesssssss). Blog post to come. Cheers //

Leave a Reply

