Sammies // Jousting // Candy

I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend gorging themselves on candy. I saw a child, approximately six years old, with a terrifying mask and a bloody chainsaw. So there’s that.

// FESTIVAL //

We headed to Charlotte for the weekend to hang with our bffs. We have a yearly tradition that just happens to be my favorite thing in the world. RENAISSANCE FESTIVAL. To make a long history of renΒ fairing very short (too short), I’ll just say that I’m a total nerd that has dressed up for this event yearly, since the age of 12. I started back in Ohio, and have taken my talents to NC.

Basically it gives you a fantastic excuse to dress up, hang out with wizards, fairies, goblins, orcs, wenches, fire breathers, acrobats, sword swallowers, jesters, and more wenches. Β Don’t forget about the food. The food alone is worth the trip (looking’ at you fried mac n cheese). This was one of the rare PERFECT days for the fair. My sister and I went to the festival back in Ohio and joked that it had to either be pouring rain or scalding hot (it was in July) for the fair.

Although the Carolina Renaissance Faire isn’t a Raleigh activity, I think it bears mentioning. It’s a fun, family event, with something for everyone. Β It’s running until November 22nd and is right outside of Charlotte.

#joustlife
#joustlife

// LINUS AND PEPPERS //

Now onto to Raleigh stuffs. Zach and I got to have a rare lunch together downtown last week. I work in North Raleigh so it’s hard for me to get back downtown during the day for lunch.

I’ve been excited to try the new sandwich shop on Salisbury since I started hearing grumblings of its deliciousness on Instagram (ya know, where I get all of my news). Check out their Facebook page here.

2015-10-28 15.22.38

I guess this place started as a pop-up shop, but I hear it is now a permanent fixture. Let me start by saying… WHY ARE YOU READING THIS POST?? YOU SHOULD BE EATING AT LINUS AND PEPPERS (that is if you’re reading this between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m. from Monday-Friday).

Menu
Menu

I had the Frenchy, Linus and Pepper’s take on the French Dip. Also, check out that potato salad. Dead.

Frenchy. I basically frenched it.
Frenchy. I basically frenched it.

Zach had The Southern, with roasted turkey, balsamic tomato white cheddar, and black pepper bacon mornay sauce. I mean, come on. Drooling.

2015-10-28 15.33.10

Every sandwich is $9 and comes with a side. They also serve beer.

I also have to say that the guys working were the NICEST guys. They were helpful, courteous, and personally introduced themselves to us before we sat down. Very cool spot. Looking forward to popping in there from time to time. You can also take your sandwich up to Level Up and play some games.

2015-10-28 16.06.56

Sandwich counter. Step aside Subway. Seriously. Get out of downtown I hate you. You're taking up precious local realty.
Sandwich counter. Step aside Subway. Seriously. Get out of downtown I hate you. You’re taking up precious local realty.
We happened to be in here when that blimp got loose. So pretty entertaining afternoon.
We happened to be in here when that blimp got loose. So pretty entertaining afternoon.

Head over to L & P’s (I’m calling it that now, feel free to do so yourself), grab some delicious food, and hang with some great people. And call me, cause I’ll be there. Duh.

// EYES UP HERE //

Wanted to go ahead and throw out a quick event recommendation for this week. On November 5, at 8:30 p.m. head over to Kings Barcade for what appears to be a great showcase of comedians. The “Eyes Up Here” Comedy Showcase is featuring some great female local comedians. Should be a great show. $5.00 at the door.

Keep your eyes out for my Freakin’ Weekend post later this week! Woo.

Leave a Reply

