Bloody Brilliant

How I would describe my weekend if I were British. This is one of the first weekends in a bit that Zach and I have been in town and it was glorious. We got in a bunch of relaxation (I was rounding week 3 of being sick and it was much needed), but we also got to take in some great local events. Ch-ch-ch-check it.

On Friday night we hit up the First Friday redo at CAM Raleigh. It was a fun and beautiful night. Downtown Raleigh was jumpin‘, likely because, due to rain, everyone had been forced to be hermits over the past few weeks.

We arrived at CAM, hit up the Beer Garden, and then headed inside to check out the new exhibit: Sarah Cain’s The Imaginary Architecture of Love.

Thought maybe you didn't see the name of the exhibit the first time, or perhaps needed a visual aid...
Thought maybe you didn’t see the name of the exhibit the first time, or perhaps needed a visual aid…

The exhibit was stellar in all of its colorful gloriousness. I will admit, there are times when modern art is completely lost on me. Also, I’m not really the person to ask about how this exhibit made me feel. Regardless, I appreciate the beauty all the same.

2015-10-09 20.27.12
Cannot explain the mattresses on the floor to you, but I’m sure they have a creative purpose.

2015-10-09 20.27.48

2015-10-09 20.31.03

Less abstract (kinda) is another exhibit downstairs called Big, Bent Ears. It’s an entire exhibit dedicated to listening. If you know me, you know that, in my humble opinion, music is the ultimate form of art. I was excited to check this one out and I highly recommend it.

2015-10-09 20.38.34

Once we felt we had come as far as we could with regards to refinement, we went back outside to enjoy the beautiful weather.  The Beer Garden will be open Thursdays and Fridays from 5-11 pm and Sundays from 12-5 pm through November.

2015-10-09 21.05.26

Seriously... move to the end of the table guy in flannel it's crowded up in here, up in here.
Seriously… move to the end of the table guy in flannel. It’s crowded up in here.

I seriously recommend taking a stroll over to CAM while the Beer Garden is up……

….. in fact….. tomorrow, October 14, is Walk to CAM day. (Flawless segue into a new event. Nailed it.) Head over to CAM tomorrow between 11:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. for free admission, food trucks, yoga, a juice bar, and stress-reducing projects. Oh, there are also flu shots, but that just doesn’t seem too exciting to me. Only for the sake of all of our health do I mention it.

Looking forward to the week ahead. We’re heading to the Ritz tonight to see Glass Animals. Look out for an upcoming post on my picks for the weekend’s events!

Leave a Reply

