Yoga // SPARKcon // Raleigh Beer Week

The weather in Raleigh this weekend has been absolutely perfect. Thankfully, there have been tons of outside events, and we’ve been taking full advantage.

Yoga

I kicked off the weekend with sunrise yoga in the Historic Oakwood Cemetery. Happy  + Hale has been providing free yoga in different locations in Raleigh on Friday mornings all summer. This was my first time attending, and, unfortunately, it was the last class of the summer. Womp Womp.

I’m so glad I went. It was pitch black when I got there, which really added to the cemetery vibe. As the sun started rising, fog rolled in. Of course, I was thinking about making it to work the entire time, but ya know, I gave it my best. I give myself a solid “A” for effort in the relaxation department.

The instructor said that she and Happy + Hale will be making a fun announcement in October. Fingers crossed that it involves more yoga (fo’ free of course). I’ll be looking out for an update and will send it along when I hear!

2015-09-18 07.22.32

2015-09-18 07.43.12

2015-09-18 07.43.40

I had a work party on Friday night at the Lonnie Poole Terrace Club at NC State. I would highly recommend this venue. Fire pit + view of downtown = happy Linds.

We took an Uber to the party, and our driver happened to be a local rapper. He DJed for Le1f, one of the rappers we saw at Hopscotch, last weekend. He goes by Tennis Rodman (I know, amazing), and is performing this Thursday at Neptune’s. Networking, am I right? Thought I’d give him a shout here. I’ll be out of town, but I think ya’ll should check it out. I’m adding him to my list of artists to see! Obviously, before we got out of the car, we had to take a selfie.

2015-09-18 19.14.37
As you can see, we are operating on the same level of coolness.

After the party, we went out to Clockwork, on Glenwood South. I read about it in a Buzzfeed article titled, “19 bars in America you should drink at before you die.” Very cool retro decor.

2015-09-19 00.52.10 2015-09-18 23.30.48

SPARKcon

Today we hit up SPARKcon. As I mentioned in my last post, this festival is one of my favorites in Raleigh and celebrates all things art and innovation. We walked around for a bit and grabbed lunch at Calavera Empanadas and Tequila.

2015-09-19 13.19.08

My favorites “sparks” are Circusspark and Bazaarspark. Cirque de vol, a local circus arts studio was out in full force, as usual. Circusspark always showcases aerialists, acrobats, stilt walkers, and other types of performers. Bazaarspark features local artisans. I also highly recommend the dance showcase. Last year we saw some bollywood-style dancing that was fantastic.

Sparkcon is still going on tomorrow. It’s FREE and great for kids!

2015-09-19 12.59.20

2015-09-19 15.06.01

2015-09-19 17.37.13

2015-09-19 17.49.58

Raleigh Beer Week

It’s Raleigh Beer Week and there are lots of great events!  I’ve had a few people asking for some recommendations. Here they are:

  • 09/20 – Crank Arm Brett Saison release
  • 09/21 – Busy Bee Super Friends 2.0 beer dinner
  • 09/22 – Trophy Brewing Mordecai Barrel Aged Sour release
  • 09/24 – Raleigh Times Stone IRS vertical
  • 09/26 – North Street Beer Station – Wicked Weed tap takeover
  • 09/27 – Raleigh Times brunch

The hubs and I will be at the Super Friends 2.0 dinner on Monday night (with a post to follow). Hope to see some of you there.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

